The Unwind Your Mind Project

I want to ask your support for my Unwind Your Mind book Project which is asking celebrities and non-celebrities to come together and share five things which help them feel good. (Like the mental health equivalent of your 5-a-day)

The aim is to break down the stigma associated with mental health problems and to show that everyone goes through a tough time at some stage.

The project will do this by bringing the focus back to mental wellness and the things that make you feel good. A large percentage of the money raised will go to a suicide prevention charity.

You can get involved by telling me:

1. Describe a time that you found difficult and what helped you through it.

2. Describe five things which help you Unwind your Mind.

 

We often hear about the importance of instilling the 5-a-day into our diet for our physical health, we want to introduce the same concept for your mental health.

A recent study into mental health attitudes in Ireland found while 94% of people in Ireland feel that mental health problems can affect anyone, one in two people would not want anyone to know they had a problem. I believe this is because when people talk about mental health they focus on the illness aspect of it, adding to the stigma.

Tackling the stigma associated with mental health problems will not happen overnight. However, this project has the potential to affect change, and encourage people to focus on mental wellness and not mental illness.


It will only take a few minutes of your time, but your impact will be far-reaching.

I hope to hear from you soon,

Regards,

Marie Duffy,

Email: unwindyourmind1@gmail.com

2 thoughts on “The Unwind Your Mind Project

  1. My favorite 5 things to do to help me unwind…..I’m sure I’ll use less than 250 words…
    #1 I love spending time with my one and only grandchild… and making a day, afternoon, or even a few hours of doing whatever she wants…. she’s only 4 and will turn 5 in December… We have so much fun no matter what we do.. shopping, going to an arcade, park or just hanging out… I love her care free innocence and she makes me forget about everything or anything that is pressing me.
    #2 I love to have a PVD (Pamper Vicki Day)…. this involves shopping, going to the spa and treating myself to a Starbucks Mocha Frappuccino…
    #3 I love spending time on FB, catching up with friends, posting favorite quotes and sharing my thoughts of Love, caring, random acts of kindness….and just leaving happy comments for friends to bless them and lift them up..
    #4 Sunshine… I love spending time basking in the sun in the Summer time… Nothing beats the feeling of the hot sun beating down on your body with all those rays of love…. it feels like heaven to me!
    #5 During times of stress, it always helps to take my mind off myself and read… I love reading… quotes of inspiration, love, life…. daily affirmations and words of encouragement…. Heck, actually I do this everyday, but during times of stress it really, really helps me…and the Bible. Just taking time to thank God during the good times and the bad times… I know he’s always there with me, I’m never alone!!!
    These are quick off the top of my head things I like to do… I Love Life, People and the People in my life… I’m Blessed ❤

Leave a Reply

